U.S. Sen. David Vitter (R-La.), Chairman of the Senate Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship (SBC), and SBC Ranking Member Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.) led 35 Republican and Democrat Senators in passing a Senate Resolution recognizing November 28, 2015 as “Small Business Saturday.”

“Making up over 99% of all employers in the United States, small businesses play a vital role to our nation’s economy and culture, which is why it’s certainly important to advocate for our small business community and entrepreneurs,” said Vitter. “As the holiday season approaches, I urge folks to take advantage of ‘Small Business Saturday’ and celebrate our local small businesses.”

“Small businesses are the backbone of our economy and our local communities,” said Shaheen. “Small Business Saturday is an opportunity for all of us to support the local small businesses that provide jobs and keep our economy moving. I’m glad the Senate is highlighting the importance of supporting small businesses during the holiday shopping season.”

Designating November 28, 2015 as “Small Business Saturday,” Vitter and Shaheen’s Resolution aims to encourage consumers to shop locally and to increase awareness of locally-owned small businesses and the impact of locally-owned small businesses on the economy of the United States.

Co-sponsors of the resolution include: Sens. Vitter, Shaheen, Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), John Boozman (R-Ark.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.), Angus King (I-Maine), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Barbara Mikulski (D-Md.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), and Joe Manchin (D-W.V.).