U.S. Sen. David Vitter (R-La.), Chairman of the Small Business & Entrepreneurship Committee, and Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), SBC Ranking Member, led a group of bipartisan Senators to introduce a Senate Resolution honoring the National Association of Women Business Owners.

“Women-owned businesses are one of the fastest-growing segments of the United States economy,” said Senator Vitter. “Empowering more women entrepreneurs and business owners is important to the economic future of the United States. On its 40th anniversary, I am proud to put forth this resolution honoring the National Association of Women Business Owners.”

“I want to congratulate the National Association of Women Business Owners on 40 years of adding to the economic strength of our country by supporting women entrepreneurs and business owners. By empowering women-owned businesses, they have helped improve communities across our country and fostered women business leaders for nearly half a century,” said Senator Shaheen.

“The rate at which women succeed is a strong barometer of a country’s economic and social health,” said Senator Ben Cardin, a senior member of the Small Business and Entrepreneurship Committee. “Women-owned businesses are at the forefront of job creation and innovation in America. As we celebrate forty years of impactful work by NAWBO, I look forward to continuing to ensure women-owned businesses are given tools and opportunities to thrive in this county.”

“I’d like to congratulate NAWBO on their 40th anniversary,” said Senator Gardner. “NAWBO has been a key voice for women-owned businesses, and a force advocating for their interests. Women-owned businesses are a crucial and growing segment of our economy, and unless they succeed, America’s economy cannot."

“Women-owned businesses are one of the fastest growing segments of our economy, and over the last 40 years, the National Association of Women Business Owners has worked to promote new opportunities for women business owners and entrepreneurs to grow their companies and create jobs,” said Senator Peters. “I’m honored to join my colleagues in recognizing the National Association of Women Business Owners’ 40th anniversary and their tremendous support of the women business owners and entrepreneurs who help strengthen our communities and grow our economy.”

“A big salute from the Equality State to the National Association of Women Business Owners on your 40th anniversary,” said Senator Enzi. “Wyoming ranks near the top when it comes to fastest growth for women-owned businesses and I hope this committee will continue to improve the environment for all American businesses.”

“Women-owned businesses are an important economic pillar in Hawaii, where over 42,000 women business owners create jobs and spur economic growth every day,” said Senator Hirono “The National Association of Women Business Owners, celebrating their 40th anniversary this year, provides invaluable support and resources to these entrepreneurs and has been instrumental in creating an equal footing for businesswomen across the country."

“As the National Association of Women Business Owners celebrates its 40th anniversary, I’m pleased to honor female entrepreneurs in Iowa and across the country for their work to create jobs, enrich our communities and play an important role in our economy,” Senator Ernst said. “I commend NAWBO for their efforts to promote a positive environment for women focused on success in entrepreneurship and business ownership. We must continue working to ease the regulatory burdens on our small businesses and empower them to grow and thrive.”

Founded in 1975, NAWBO boasts a membership of 5,000 members in sixty chapters across the United States. NAWBO’s rich resource center aims to encourage and develop women entrepreneurs through a variety of events and programs and their award-winning Institute for Entrepreneurial Development. Nationally, NAWBO advocates for over ten million woman-owned businesses employing nearly sixteen million individuals.

Cosponsors of the Honoring the National Association of Women Business Owners resolution include Senators James Risch (R-Idaho), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), and Ed Markey (D-Mass.).