(Washington, D.C.) – U.S. Senator David Vitter (R-La.), Chairman of the Senate Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship (SBC), and SBC Ranking Member Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H) today led 36 Republican and Democrat Senators in introducing a Senate Resolution recognizing November 26, 2016 as “Small Business Saturday.

“Small businesses represent over 99% of all employers in the United States, contributing billions of dollars to our national economy and driving innovation and job creation throughout the country,” said Senator Vitter. “As the Small Business Committee Chairman, I am honored to recognize and fight for small businesses and entrepreneurs across the country and would encourage every American to shop at their local small businesses not only on ‘Small Business Saturday,’ but throughout the year.”

“Small businesses are the engine of the American economy,” said Senator Shaheen. “Small Business Saturday is an opportunity to highlight local businesses and their contributions that support jobs in our communities and keep our economy moving. I encourage people across the country to participate in Small Business Saturday and support small businesses year-round.”

Designating November 26, 2016 as “Small Business Saturday,” Vitter and Shaheen’s Resolution aims to encourage consumers to shop locally and to increase awareness of locally-owned small businesses and the impact of locally-owned small businesses on the economy of the United States.

The U.S. Senate first recognized “Small Business Saturday” in 2011 when it unanimously passed a resolution recognizing the day. In 2014, an estimated $14.3 billion was spent at small businesses on “Small Business Saturday,” and in 2015, an estimated 95 million people took part in the day and shopped at small businesses across the country.

Co-sponsors of the resolution include: Sens. Vitter, Shaheen, Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Barbara Boxer (D-Cal.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Bob Casey (D-Penn.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Christopher Coons (D-Del.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Cal.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.), Maize Hirono (D-Hawaii), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Jim Inhofe (R-Oka.), Angus King (D-Maine), Mark Kirk (R-Ill.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Barbara Mikulski (D-Md.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), John Tester (D-Mont.), Tom Udall (D-N.M.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), and Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.).

Click here to read the resolution.